Bitten By the Bavarian Bug

It was only a matter of time. If you know a little bit about me, you know I love pretzels. More than love. I need pretzels. They are youth, they are salty snack, they are my comfort food, my oral fixation, my joy in discovering new varieties of a wonderful staple. And Basel borders the Black Forest, which is to the south-west of Bavaria, home of large-breasted, blond, beer-stein-hoisting wenches. And the perfect accompaniment to the breasts and beer are… pretzels.

I found a recipe and the boys and I set out to create our first batch of Wilan & Sons Home-baked, Super-tasty, Yum-yum-style Pretzels (now available at Dean and Deluca for $35 per pretzel. And yes, they’re worth it).

We mixed, shaped, boiled and baked. It turns out, Jessica is the best pretzel shaper, Ken the worst (is there a metaphor here?). The boys are pretty good. And the pretzels? Hot, salty, home-made, delicious! Here’s a similar recipe to what we used (we did not add sugar): Food and Wine pretzel recipe.

Please Try Our Homemade Pretzels!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Laurel Lee  On May 26, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Yum! Call me next time you have a batch coming out of the oven! I’ll be right over 😛

Leave a Reply

