Chamonix!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We drove three hours to Chamonix, the French mountain adventure town just south of Switzerland. This is a skiing, mountaineering, mountain biking, paragliding, and trail running mecca. Mount Blanc, the tallest peak in Europe at 15,782 feet, rises above and beyond the long valley which is hedged in by rising mountains shooting up nearly vertical. It’s Aspen on steroids. We hiked up a mountain, walked along a river gorge, ate wonderful French food, and on the last day took a ride up to the Aiguille du Midi peak. In the Mont Blanc massif, it is 12,605 feet and reached by the world’s highest vertical ascent cable car, climbing in two sections for a 20-minute ride from Chaminox to the top, from 75 degrees and sunny to 31 degrees and snow. Very fun!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Juliette  On July 1, 2011 at 6:59 am

    So neat to hear you describe Chamonix. My parents tell me that I learn to ski there when I was two. I think that I even have the pictures to prove it. 🙂

Leave a comment